Retired players of badminton pay courtesy call on Director-General of NSA


A five-member delegation of the Badminton International Club of Ghana [BICGhana] made up of old Badminton players based in Ghana and abroad paid a courtesy call on Professor Peter Twumasi, the Director-General of the National Sports Authority [NSA] to formally introduce their group to the NSA.

The delegation was led by the President of the Club, Dr. Albert Rockson III who informed the Director-General that BICGhana is a registered NGO with a current membership of 25 old badminton players.

He added that the primary objective of the club was to support and complement government’s efforts at promoting and developing badminton in Ghana.

According to him, the support would cover rackets, shuttles, nets, mats, playing courts and other logistics as well as player development.

Dr. Rockson assured the NSA Director General that BICGhana would have a working relationship with the Badminton Association of Ghana [BAG] in executing its primary objective in consonance with its national aspirations in the development of badminton in Ghana. He hinted that the BICGhana would formally be inaugurated in January or February 2022.

Prof. Twumasi expressed satisfaction in the group and advised the leadership to collaborate and work closely with BAG to develop the game of badminton and in particular help promising players to gain international exposure and prepare them for international competitions.

He encouraged other federations’ old players to take a cue from BICGhana to develop young and upcoming players in their respective disciplines.

The Acting Deputy Director (Technical) of NSA, Mr. Kwame Amporfi, also expressed joy at the formation of such a club by old badminton players to share their experiences and resources with the badminton fraternity.

He reiterated the call by the DG for the group to complement and work with BAG which is the national federation duly recognized by NSA to coordinate badminton activities in Ghana.

Other members of the BICGhana delegation were Mrs, Juliana Amihere [USA], Mr. Kwesi Amihere [USA], Mr. Godwill Ntarmah [Ghana] and Mr. Lawrence Ofosu-Agyare [Ghana]

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.